Out of the mouths of IndieBabes

20 Dec

Tonight I overheard my girl talking to our doorman. He asked her if she was done with school for the semester, to which she replied, “Oh, no – I still have to finish my winter story before we go on vacation.”

And then, as only the daughter of a writer could, she added with a heavy sigh, “I’m on SUCH a tight deadline.”

Thus ends my wondering whether the babes of IndieMoms aren’t just a bit more precocious. I’ve definitely noticed that my amazing IndieMom friends’ kids have that same old soul quality as my girl. I don’t know whether it’s a good thing or a bad thing, but if she turns out to be anything like Rory Gilmore, I’m cool with it.

3 Responses to “Out of the mouths of IndieBabes”

  1. Danaatx December 22, 2010 at 3:01 pm #

    Same here! My four year old claims not to believe in g-d (Note: I choose not to even think about what that might possibly mean)….One day when I was trying to coax her back toward the slightly g-d fearing population because not believe in a god in Texas is tantamount to not remembering the Alamo, I reminded her that things always seem to work out for us in the end. I suggested she consider the possibility of a higher power. A few minutes later when we succeeded sliding her cousin’s birthday gift into a snuggly fitting gift bag she turned to me and dripping with sarcasm said “It must be g-d.”

    • IndieMom December 23, 2010 at 2:22 pm #

      I love it! There’s a sophistication under there that I have to believe will serve our IndieBabes well in life. At the very least, they have wit on their side…!

      • Danaatx March 2, 2011 at 5:42 pm #

        I have come back a couple times to see if you have posted additional content. I hope you will….though I know time is tight…I enjoyed reading about and related to your world.

Leave a Reply

